Capabilities and User Permissions

As a game Owner or Admin, you might want to set specific read/write permissions for a particular user for different areas of the Portal. You might want a user of your game:

You can quickly set up this sort of mixed permissions for users as a specific set of capabilities and, additionally, refine the permissions in the Manage section for Screens and Snippets.

Collaborators and Group Permissions

You can set up the read/write permissions for Collaborators on your game with a high degree of precision:

Creating Group Permissions and Assigning to Collaborators

A game author and owner always has full read/write access to everything in the Portal, regardless of how the settings are changed for other game Admins. You can create your own custom Groups to impose the required access permissions on your Collaborators.

1. To create a new Group, go to your Game Overview page.

2. Under User Management select the Groups tab and click Add Group:

The Add Group page appears.

3. Enter a Name and Description for the new Group and enable Read and Write permissions for each capability in the portal, as required:

You can expand headings in the Permission list to achieve precisely the granularity of Read/Write access you want for Collaborators that are assigned to this new Group:

Default Permissions? Note that you can also set the default permissions for a Group for any new features that are added to the portal.

4. Click to Save the new Group. It is added in the list on the Groups tab:

Renaming Groups? You can edit or delete a Group. However, when you edit a Group - most likely to change the permissions for the Group - you will NOT be able to rename the Group.

5. Select the Collaborators tab and click to Add Collaborator:

The Add Collaborator page appears.

6. Enter an Email for the new Collaborator.

Email is Unique Identifier! Note that this will be used in the platform as the unique identifier for the Collaborator. This means that if you want to add a Collaborator who will acquire the permissions you have configured under more than one Group, you must add them once and assign them to those multiple Groups. You can't add them more than once using the same Email and each time add them to a different Group.

7. To assign the new Collaborator to one or more permission Groups, select these from the Groups drop-down and click to Save the new Collaborator:

In this example, the new Collaborator is assigned the newly-configured Restricted Group permissions.

8. Click to Save the new Collaborator. The new Collaborator is added under User Management on the Game Overview page:

Editing a Collaborator? If you click to edit the details of a Collaborator after you have added them to your game, you'll be able to change the permission Groups to which they are assigned but you won't be able to edit their Email. This is because the Email is used as the unique identifier for the Collaborator and therefore the field is protected and is read-only. To change a Collaborator's Email, you must delete the Collaborator and add them again.

9. Log in as the Collaborator and navigate to the game. Based on the Capabilities set which is defined by the Restricted Group permissions, a Collaborator will be able to view certain things but not edit them. Given the Read/Write permissions configured for this Group, the Collaborator will be able to both view and edit game Team Types:

But the Collaborator will only be able to view and not edit the game's Virtual Goods:

Refining Permissions for Screens and Snippets

You can exploit a finer degree of access permission to control what users can see and do with Screens and Snippets. For example, access can be given to the Players Screen and the corresponding Snippets with the exception of the player_virtual_good and player_currencies Snippets for the newly created Group. Therefore, when a user is logged in with only that Group, they can see the Players Screen as normal, except that the information displayed for Virtual Goods and Currencies will not be displayed.

Note: By default, all Screens and Snippets have no Groups selected. Unless specific Groups are selected for Screens and Snippets, users in any Group will be able to view them.

7. As the game Admin, go to the Manage section and Edit the Players Screen. Select the newly-created Group in the Groups dropdown as well as for the gameAdmin Group so that Admins can also view it:

8. Do the same for each corresponding Snippet. Add both the newly-created Group and the default gameAdmin group.

9. For Snippets player_virtual_goods and player_currencies, select only the gameAdmin Group.

10. Login as the user belonging to the newly-created Restricted Group.

11. Load the Players Screen - you can see that the player_virtual_goods and player_currencies Snippets cannot be viewed.

Unable to Set Groups for Screen and Snippets?

If you cannot edit Groups for Screens and Snippets, make sure you have at least Read permissions set for Configurator>Permissions>Groups for at least one of the Groups you belong to as game Collaborator:

Did this page help you? Please enter your feedback below. For questions about using this part of the platform, please contact support here